Not necessarily an easy read at points, Daffodils is nevertheless a worthwhile one – the market is full of WWII books, but not nearly so many WWI books – and not so many that are written quite as well as this one. While some of the plot twists and turns are seen so far away as to be visible from 30,000 feet – gee, I wonder if [thing the Lord refuses to do] will direct and tragically affect [lower-class person]? – that doesn’t make them any less realistic or interesting. The author’s linguistic use, both imagery and an easy, familiar use of WWI English slang, both contribute to an engrossing world.

Fans of Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife will find the book an engrossing page-turner — you’ll want to find out exactly what happens next, turning pages the same way you kept hitting ‘next’ on your binge watch. I didn’t give the book five stars only because so much of what was about to happen was telegraphed to the point where I wanted to yell OKAY I GET IT, I KNOW WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT at my Kindle. That, and some of the characterization falls a little flat — some of the characters felt like they had slightly cardboard cut out edges.

Overall, it’s a fun read, though its heavy-handed foreshadowing and slightly-flat characterization detract from the whole. Recommended summer reading, with content warnings for infant death.

Daffodils is currently available for free on Amazon.

This review was originally posted on Amazon and Goodreads; I am consolidating my reviews.

Share This: